Book Review |Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief.

Book review

28187

Name – Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief.

Author – Rick Riordan.

Publisher – Disney Hyperion Books.

Publication date – 28th June 2005.

Series status – 1st book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians.

Synopsis.

Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse—Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him. When Percy’s mom finds out, she knows it’s time that he knew the truth about where he came from, and that he go to the one place he’ll be safe. She sends Percy to Camp Half Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island), where he learns that the father he never knew is Poseidon, God of the Sea. Soon a mystery unfolds and together with his friends—one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena—Percy sets out on a quest across the United States to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.

Add book on Goodreads.

My Thoughts.

4 out of 5 stars.

This book exceeded all my expectations. I know I’m late to the Percy Jackson party and I wish I’d read it sooner but I’m here now!

This book started out weird and just got weirder but it was a good weird. I really loved learning about Greek mythology, I didn’t really know much about it at all and it was really interesting. There was a lot of mystery packed in and I loved finding out about the whole situation when Percy did.

Camp Half Blood was so cool! I can’t wait to see where these books take me and learn more about all the different places and characters. All the places in this book were really interesting and I just found myself hanging on every word.

There were quite a few different themes in this first book. Percy learns of his true identity as a demigod, where as before he just thought he was a bad kid who wasn’t special in any way. Percy learns that his Dyslexia and ADHD were actually normal for demigods. Throughout this book, Percy accepts who he is and discovers more about himself and his world in every chapter.

We also see how much Percy cares about and loves his mother. This keeps him going during the tough challenges he faces throughout his quest. We also see how much he grows to care about Annabeth and Grover .

Percy was a great character although he has the worst but also the best luck ever. All those monsters that came after him and he’s not dead yet. He liked to push his luck especially with the Gods but I felt like he really developed throughout the book and proved his worth, but not without making some enemies along the way.

I was a bit iffy about Annabeth to begin with, I didn’t really feel all that connected with her until they went on the quest. Now, I really like her and I’m excited to see how she progresses in the next book.

Clarisse was a total bully but there’s something about her that I liked. I’ve not quite figured that out yet haha but I’ll let you know when I do. We didn’t get to see that much of her in the 1st book so I’m looking forward to seeing what will happen with her in the books to come.

Grover was adorable! He definitely proved himself on the quest and although he was a bit scatty and nervous, he wanted to protect Percy and prove that he was brave enough and he certainly did that.

I really enjoyed this 1st book in the series and I’m excited to see where these books will go. The characters were all really well-developed and the plot was exciting and fast paced. I found the books really hard to put down and I hope that carries on in the remaining books.

Have you read the Percy Jackson series? If so, did you enjoy it? 

You can purchase this book here; Amazon (USA) | Amazon (UK) | Barnes and Noble | Waterstones.


Come and find me.

Twitter | Personal Instagram | Bookstagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads.

4 thoughts on “Book Review |Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief.

  1. Esther

    I just read the series this year (this book I read in December but finished the rest in January) and they are really fun and fast to read! You have a lot of good stuff ahead with this series 😉

    Like

    Reply
  2. Codie

    Although I read this series some time ago, about six years ago, it’s never lost its charm for me. It’s better late than never with the Percy Jackson series, and I’m so happy you enjoyed it.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

