The Dreaded Reading Slump (and How to Get Rid of Them!)

We all know the situation. You pick up a book and YOU JUST CAN’T READ! It’s the bane of a readers existence and I find there’s nothing worse than the reading slump.

mayday

Possible Causes.

Netflix.

Ah Netflix. I can lose hours and hours of time just binge watching a new TV show that I’ve found. 77 episodes later and I realise I haven’t read all day. *currently obsessed with Fringe, send help!*

netflix

You’ve just finished the best book, ever.

The times when nothing will ever compare to the book you’ve just finished and everything else is going to be rubbish.

book hangover

You’ve read too much.

This is basically your brain telling you to stop reading before it explodes. You want to read but your brain does not!

brain


MY TOP TIPS FOR GETTING OUT OF A READING SLUMP.

Re-read an old favourite.

I tend to read Harry Potter to bring me out of a slump. It reminds me of how exciting reading is and then I just want to explore other worlds. Plus, I know the story back to front so it doesn’t involve too much concentration.

Try an audiobook.

I tried audiobooks for the first time not long ago and it really helped me out of the last slump!

Try short stories.

This is a brilliant trick for slumps. Something short and quick to read usually helps me find the joy in reading again.

Don’t try to read.

Sometimes your brain just needs a break so listen to it. Do anything other than reading for a few hours or days and then try again!

Read a different genre.

Maybe you’re having what I like to call ‘a genre burnout’. If all you normally read is Fantasy, then maybe try Contemporary. Or if all you normally read is Sci-fi, then try Fantasy and so on.

Head over to Goodreads/Twitter/Booktube.

I do this all the time when I’m in a reading slump because when I see others finding so much joy in reading, its like it reminds my brain how much joy I get from reading. Although, this could make your slump worse if you find yourself getting frustrated that you can’t read.

These are just some of the tips I find help me when I’m in a reading slump. What are your top tips for getting out of a reading slump?


Come and find me.

Twitter | Personal Instagram | Bookstagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin.

9 thoughts on “The Dreaded Reading Slump (and How to Get Rid of Them!)

  1. Esther

    Goodreads, Twitter & Booktube are what motivates my reading too because I see everyone else adding books to their TBRs and I look at covers, listen to discussions, and then I’m super pumped to pick any book and give it a shot hahah
    In my discussion post on why reading slumps are not so bad I talk about something similar to what you are saying with “Try not to read”. I think that’s an important one!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Donna

    I binge-watched Gilmore Girls all weekend and got absolutely no reading done xD I am constantly tired these days and my brain enjoy moving images more than words on a page.
    In case of reading slump, I go back to my favorites, either Harry Potter in its English version (I read the French version growing and only keep the original for times when I’m down, so it feels like reading it for the first time 🙂 ), or a Janet Evanovich. Or I binge-watch something until my brain hurts and asks for a different food!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. booknerdmomo

    I’m totally blaming my recent reading slump problem on wanting to binge watch every season of Game of Thrones (which I’m still only on season three so…) xD. Re-reading an old favorite really does work though; that’s my go to during reading slumps. Great post! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

