Book Review | Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.

Book review

15881

Name – Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.

Author – J.K Rowling.

Publisher – Bloomsbury.

Publication Date – 2nd July 1998.

Series Status – 2nd book in the Harry Potter series.

You can purchase this book here; Amazon (UK) | Amazon (USA) | Waterstones | Barnes & Noble.

Synopsis (taken from Goodreads.)

All Harry Potter wants is to get away from the Dursleys and go back to Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry. But just as he’s packing his bags, Harry receives a warning from a strange, impish creature named Dobby – who says that if Harry Potter returns to Hogwarts, disaster will strike.

And strike it does. For in Harry’s second year at Hogwarts, fresh torments and horrors arise, including an outrageously stuck-up new professor, Gilderoy Lockheart, a spirit named Moaning Myrtle who haunts the girls’ bathroom, and the unwanted attentions of Ron Weasley’s younger sister, Ginny.

But each of these seem minor annoyances when the real trouble begins, and someone–or something–starts turning Hogwarts students to stone. Could it be Draco Malfoy, a more poisonous rival than ever? Could it possibly be Hagrid, whose mysterious past is finally told? Or could it be the one everyone at Hogwarts most suspects… Harry Potter himself.

My Thoughts.

“There is a plot, Harry Potter. A plot to make most terrible things happen at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry this year.” – Dobby.

*May contain slight spoilers.*

5 out of 5 stars.

Aw Dobby, I love him. He’s so cute and protective of Harry and he tried so hard to get Harry out of danger even if he didn’t do it in the best way possible!

I love all the details that I forget about when I haven’t read the books for a while and all the things that the film leaves out. I love how we learn so many new things about Hogwarts and the characters in every single book.

I loved visiting the Burrow once again and reading about all the different things in the magical world. It was lovely to find out more about Mr and Mrs Weasley and Ginny as characters. I loved Mr Weasley’s enthusiasm with Muggle things e.g – a telephone. I mean I’m enthusiastic about learning all about the wizarding world and a telephone seems really boring compared to that. I love Ginny, I hate how the films hardly feature he at all and we don’t get to see the Ginny we loved from the books.

I really love how Mr Weasley’s car has a mind of its own and how angry it got with Ron and Harry for making it fly so far, so angry it spat them about and drives into the distance. But I also love how it comes in their time of need to help them out.

My first impressions of Gilderoy Lockhart was that he was so full of himself. He just seemed to get more and more self-absorbed as the story went on. Sometimes I really just wanted to reach through the pages and punch him in the face.

I never really noticed all of the similarities between Harry and Voldemort when I first read the books. They were both brought up by Muggles, both can speak Parseltongue, are both stubborn and determined, both orphans. At least Harry has good in him and he has friendship and love around him,something that Voldermort would never know because he was so obsessed with power.

Have you read the Harry Potter series, if so what did you think of it?


Come and find me.

 Twitter | Bookstagram | Personal Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin.

3 thoughts on “Book Review | Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.

  1. irena_bookdustmagic

    Nice review!
    You know what I find funny?
    This night I dream about Harry Potter and his whole magic world, and today I accidently found your blog and your review for this book, like it’s a sign I should read the series because I only read the first book when it forst came out in my country and I was sth like 10.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Pingback: May Wrap Up. |

Leave a Reply

