Book Review | Half Wild by Sally Green.

Book review

20814989

Name – Half Wild.

Author – Sally Green.

Publication Date – 24th March 2015.

Publisher – Viking Juvenile.

Series Status – 2nd book in the Half Wild trilogy.

You can purchase this book here; Amazon (USA) | Amazon (UK) | Waterstones | Barnes & Noble.

Synopsis (taken from Goodreads.)

“You will have a powerful Gift, but it’s how you use it that will show you to be good or bad.”

In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, seventeen-year-old Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most powerful and violent witch. Nathan is hunted from all sides: nowhere is safe and no one can be trusted. Now, Nathan has come into his own unique magical Gift, and he’s on the run–but the Hunters are close behind, and they will stop at nothing until they have captured Nathan and destroyed his father.

My Thoughts.

May possibly contain minor spoilers for the 1st book, Half Bad.

4 out of 5 stars.

I am in love with this series. It’s so beautiful yet so dark and most definitely addicting.

I felt bad for Nathan, again. Faced with this impossible task of killing his own father or the girl he loves will die. He annoyed me at times though. I felt like he was so ungrateful sometimes and he seemed to get more and more angry as the book went on. To be honest though, if I’d been treated the way he had, I think I’d be angry too. Even though he did annoy me ay times, I still liked him. I think he’s definitely a love to hate character for me.

The first 100 pages or so were slower than the first book which was sad but the rest of the book made up for it. There was so much action but also I liked the way that the author concentrated on the relationships between the characters.

I really like Gabriel but I did think he was way too good for Nathan. I felt like Nathan led him on a lot and wasn’t honest about his feelings. Still going to ship them though haha.

I never liked Annalise, I don’t know why but there was something about her that angered me and I did not trust her at all. I kept getting annoyed at Nathan for trying to save her. I didn’t want Nathan and Annalise together at all and their scenes just infuriated me.

Marcus was pretty much as I expected him to be – cold and angry but I never thought he’d have this soft spot for his son. The way he was talked about in the 1st book, I didn’t think he’d care about Nathan at all but he does and you can tell he really cares about what happens to Nathan.

I don’t like love triangles full stop. But this one angered me more than most. I wanted Nathan and Gabriel together and I was annoyed at Annalise getting in the way haha. I wanted to punch Nathan with the way he treated Gabriel sometimes.

Overall, it was a really enjoyable read and I can’t wait to read the last book in the series even though it will probably rip my heart out.

Have you read the Half Bad trilogy? What did you think about it?


Come and find me.

Twitter | Bookstagram | Personal Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin.

Leave a Reply

