Book Review | Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.

Book review

72193

Name – Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.

Author – J.K Rowling.

Publication Date – 26th June 1997.

Publisher – Bloomsbury Publishing.

Series Status – 1st book in the Harry Potter series.

You can purchase this book here; Amazon (UK) | Amazon (USA) | Barnes & Noble | Waterstones.

Synopsis (Taken from Amazon.)

Harry Potter is an ordinary boy who lives in a cupboard under the stairs at his Aunt Petunia and Uncle Vernon’s house, which he thinks is normal for someone like him whose parents have been killed in a ‘car crash’. He is bullied by them and his fat, spoilt cousin Dudley, and lives a very unremarkable life with only the odd hiccup (like his hair growing back overnight!) to cause him much to think about. That is until an owl turns up with a letter addressed to Harry and all hell breaks loose! He is literally rescued by a world where nothing is as it seems and magic lessons are the order of the day. Read and find out how Harry discovers his true heritage at Hogwarts School of Wizardry and Witchcraft, the reason behind his parents mysterious death, who is out to kill him, and how he uncovers the most amazing secret of all time, the fabled Philosopher’s Stone! All this and muggles too. Now, what are they?

My Thoughts.

5 out of 5 stars.

“It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live” – Albus Dumbledore 

I didn’t think it was possible to love Harry Potter anymore than I already do but yes, its possible! Re-reading this book has made me appreciate all the little things that the films leave out. The magic and the mystery surrounding the books is so important and fantastic for me. I’m so excited to be back in the magical world and I can’t wait to get started on the next book. I could read this series again and again and never get bored, ever. I’m so excited for all the Harry Potter magic that’s coming out this year and fingers crossed this will be the year I finally get to go to the studios!

I really hate the Dursley’s! Why they have to treat Harry like a piece of dirt is beyond me. Dudley is a spoilt brat who gets everything he wants  and I just can’t believe how ungrateful he is. I don’t think I ever realised just how vile Dudley is and how badly they all treat Harry.

Despite all this, Harry turns out alright and I don’t know where he learnt such good manners spending all that time with the Dursley’s because I don’t think they know what manners are. It’s lovely to see Harry develop throughout the 1st book as he finds his way through his 1st year at Hogwarts.

J.K Rowling’s imagination never fails to amaze me. She has thought of everything from the sweets to the history of magic to all the background characters. It’s also super exciting when I come across an object in the book that I had forgotten about.

I loved how we meet Ron and Hermione on the train and Ron says about Hermione “I hope she’s not in my house.” I guess her never saw the future coming because they become the very best of friends and more. I just love their relationship and how loyal they become to each other. I can’t help swell with pride when Ron makes such a brave and selfless move down the trapdoor.

Hermione is by far my favourite character and I also think she comes the furthest. I always forget how snobby she was at the very beginning and how terrified she was of breaking eve a tiny school rule.

Hagrid is also one of my favourite characters and I really think that he becomes a father figure to Harry. I mean he’s never had that and Hagrid is always there for Harry, right from the very beginning and he would do anything to protect Harry.

I even missed reading about Draco Malfoy and all his slimyness! Oh how different things could have turned out if Harry had taken him up on his friendship offer.

I love the troll part because it’s when Harry, Ron and Hermione’s friendship really begins. Ron was so rude to Hermione to begin with, its amazing the way their friendship develops over time. I love it so much and I can’t wait to go on more adventures with the trio.

I can’t help but feel annoyed that the film left out Hermione’s moment when the trio went down the trapdoor. Ron had his moment with the Chess game and Harry with the stone. But they didn’t show Hermione and her solving the puzzle. I know its something small but it’s always annoyed me.

Ah, I have so many good things to say about this book. I don’t even think I could say one bad things about Harry Potter and if you haven’t already read the books, what are you waiting for?!


 

Come and find me.

Twitter.

Bookstagram.

Personal Instagram.

Goodreads.

Bloglovin.

4 thoughts on “Book Review | Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.

  1. DarlingLauren

    I love the books and the movies. But the books will always be more special, the small things in the book really make it. I can’t wait until I have time to re-read the series this summer.
    I really like it when we meet Malfoy for the first time and Hagrid turns up with ice creams.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

