Book Review | Half Bad by Sally Green.

Book review

half-bad

Name – Half Bad.

Author – Sally Green.

Publication Date – 4th March 2014.

Publisher – Viking Books for Young Readers.

Series Status – 1st book in the Half Bad trilogy.

You can purchase this book here; Amazon (USA) | Amazon (UK) | Barnes & Noble | Waterstones.

Synopsis (taken from Goodreads.)

Wanted by no one.
Hunted by everyone.

Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus. Nathan’s only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it’s too late. But how can Nathan find his father when there is no one safe to trust, not even family, not even the girl he loves?

Half Bad is an international sensation and the start of a brilliant trilogy: a gripping tale of alienation and the indomitable will to survive.

My Thoughts.

4 out of 5 stars.

This book really intrigued me from the very first chapter. The book is separated into 6 parts which are then separated into chapters. I loved this format and I loved that the chapters were quick and easy to read.

Some of this book is written in the 2nd person and I’ve never come across that in fiction before. She absolutely slayed it and it worked so well. I will admit, I was a little nervous about it but it really added something different to the writing that I’d never experienced before. I think it made me connect with Nathan a lot more and brought me closer to the story.

I felt sorry for Nathan. The way his family and others treated him was awful and it really pulled at my heart-strings. I liked Nathan, his determination to survive his whole ordeal was quite inspirational. I loved how he still had faith in his father even after all the terrible things he’d been told about him.

This book was interesting and I felt there was a lot of mystery and suspense. I was so excited to be following Nathan’s journey and I felt like I was right beside him when he was running away from the Council.

I’m really looking forward to the next book! I just want to be back and reading about Nathan and his journey. Also, secretly happy that the 3rd book is out and I don’t have to wait for it.


Come and find me.

Twitter.

Personal Instagram.

Bookstagram.

Goodreads.

Bloglovin.

Leave a Reply

