Book Review | On the Edge of Gone by Corinne Duyvis.

Book review

on-the-edge-of-gone

Name – On the Edge of Gone.

Author – Corinne Duyvis.

Publication Date – 8th March 2016.

Publisher – Amulet Books.

You can purchase this book here: Amazon (USA) | Amazon (UK) | Barnes & Noble | Waterstones.

Synopsis (Taken fromGoodreads.)

January 29, 2035.

That’s the day the comet is scheduled to hit—the big one. Denise and her mother and sister, Iris, have been assigned to a temporary shelter near their hometown of Amsterdam to wait out the blast, but Iris is nowhere to be found, and at the rate Denise’s drug-addicted mother is going, they’ll never reach the shelter in time.

Then a last-minute encounter leads them to something better than a temporary shelter: a generation ship that’s scheduled to leave Earth behind and colonize new worlds after the comet hits. But each passenger must have a practical skill to contribute. Denise is autistic and fears that she’ll never be allowed to stay. Can she obtain a spot before the ship takes flight? What about her mother and sister?

When the future of the human race is at stake, whose lives matter most?

My Thoughts.

4 out of 5 stars.

This was one of my most highly anticipated books of 2016.

It was really easy to read, fast paced and interesting. I thought the idea was really original. It raised a lot of important questions like how do you decide whose worth saving when the world is ending?

I loved that we had an autistic main character. I’ve never read a science fiction novel that featured that. Denise was loveable and ferocious in her own little way. I loved how determined she was to find her sister and get spaces for her family on the generation ship.

The diversity of the characters was brilliant. We had Denise who was autistic and her sister Iris who was transgender. It was really refreshing to read a sci fi fiction novel that included such diverse characters.

I didn’t really like Denise’s mom. I felt like she was really needy and it was annoying. I felt bad for Denise that her mother was addicted to drugs especially as she felt like it was her fault.

Max was a sweet little gem of a character. Even when he was being mean, he was still saying sorry for being mean and it was just so cute.

I did expect more action but it didn’t really ruin the book for me as I enjoyed reading all about the characters and what they were doing. It was a really character driven story and I love that about a book.

It was a slight relief that this book is a standalone. Don’t get me wrong, I love my series books but I have SO many on the go and so many to start so I liked knowing that there was just this one book. Although, I would have really enjoyed reading about what happens next for Denise and her friends.

* Possibly a slight spoiler* My heart broke when I was reading about the cat shelter that Denise worked at before the comet. She spent a lot of time with a nervous cat called Quasi and when they announced that the comet was going to hit, they made the heartbreaking decision to put all the cats at the shelter down. And even though that was the right decision, it still broke my heart! Little Quasi’s appetite had finally increased and then poof, he was going to die. Ahh my poor heart hurts just re-thinking about it! Yes, I’m a crazy cat lady and proud!

Overall, this book was really good and I enjoyed it a lot. I did feel like the ending was left ‘too open’ if that makes sense. Those kinds of books drive me insane. It was really well written and the characters were really relatable and enjoyable.


Come and find me.

Twitter.

Bookstagram.

Personal Instagram.

Goodreads.

Bloglovin.

One thought on “Book Review | On the Edge of Gone by Corinne Duyvis.

  1. Pingback: April Wrap Up + May TBR. |

Leave a Reply

