Book Review | Champion by Marie Lu.

Book review

champion.indd

Name – Champion.

Author – Marie Lu.

Publication Date – 5th November 2013.

Publisher – Putnam Juvenile.

Series Status – 3rd and final book in the Legend series.

You can purchase this book here; Amazon (UK) | Amazon (USA) | Barnes & Noble | Waterstones.

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.)

He is a Legend.

She is a Prodigy.

Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been assigned a high-level military position.

But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them: just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything.

My Thoughts.

3.5 stars out of 5 stars.

Oh, this series has left a big hole where my heart should be!

I loved the first book in the series Legend (you can read my review for Legend here.) but I felt like the series went a bit downhill. I preferred Champion to Prodigy (you can read my review for Prodigy here.) but I still felt like it could have been so much more.

I loved June and Day. They were absolutely brilliant characters and they felt like real people. I loved June and her fearlessness and loyalty and I loved that Day was much the same but he also had a soft spot that we got to see a lot more in this last book.

I thought Day’s brother Eden was a lovely little character. Even after everything the Republic did to him and his family, he still wanted to do the right thing even if it meant he would be in pain.

I loved Antarctica in this book! I felt like the author could have written a whole separate book on that amazing country. It didn’t get as much attention as I would have liked.

I found this book to be quite slow though but the last 100 pages or so I just couldn’t stop reading because I just needed to know what was going to happen. The battle was brilliant and so tense and was filled with so much excitement and action.

I nearly gave up on this book when I was about halfway through because it was so slow but I really wanted to see it through until the end and it was so worth it.

The ending broke my heart. My heart was ripped from my chest, stomped all over and then shoved back in! WHY?! I don’t want to give away the ending but it was so sad. To be honest, I was a bit annoyed at the ending for a bit but the author did pull it back with the ‘ten years later.’


Come and find me!

Twitter.

Bookstagram.

Personal Instagram.

Goodreads.

Follow me on Bloglovin.

One thought on “Book Review | Champion by Marie Lu.

  1. Pingback: April Wrap Up + May TBR. |

Leave a Reply

