Bookish Pet Peeves.

bookish pet peeves

Hey guys! Today I’m going to be talking about my bookish pet peeves! I’ve wanted to do this for a while and I have finally got round to it! So lets get started.


 

1. When People Fold the Pages.

never do that again

WHY DO PEOPLE HAVE TO DO THIS?! Especially when its MY BOOK! It drives me insane. Have you never heard of a bookmark guys?!

2. When They Put Stickers on Book Covers.

dexter

I think this could quite possibly be, my BIGGEST pet peeve. My favourite bookstore does this and it drives me insane. And when I try to take off the sticker, it doesn’t come off in one peel and then theres bits of sticker left on my book which are impossible to get off!!

3. When a Book Doesn’t Live Up To The Hype.

that sucks

I’ve read some amazing books that have lived up to the hyper. But then I’ve also read some books that haven’t lived up to the hype. Maybe I should learn my lesson and not set my expectations too high but lets face it – thats not gonna happen!

4 When Someone Doesn’t Put a Spoiler Warning Before a Spoiler.

shit

So, most bloggers and booktubers are considerate and always put a spoiler review but there always has to be one! I don’t like spoilers for books that I want to read. I feel like it ruins the moment for me if I know its coming.

5. When Someone Borrows My Book and I Never Get it Back.

giphy

Or I get it back in terrible condition. I like my books to look nice on my bookshelf. I’m always extra careful when I borrow someone elses book and they will ALWAYS GET IT BACK! I have learnt my lesson now and I am very careful who I lend my books to (if at all!)

6. When People Judge Me For How Much I Read.

orange

I like to read, OKAY? I do not judge anyone for things that they like to do and I expect the same from others.

7. When People Judge Me Because I Want to Stay Home and Read.

shut up

I would much rather stay at home and read then go out and party. I don’t like partying (I used to!) but not anymore. Me, my book and a coffee sounds like a perfect night in to me!


 

What are some of your bookish pet peeves? I’m sure there are many more that I have but these are just some of my big ones!


Come and find me!

Twitter.

Bookstagram.

Personal Instagram.

Goodreads.

Chronic Illness Journey.

 

10 thoughts on “Bookish Pet Peeves.

  1. The Belgian Reviewer

    Very relatable, all of them. I also hate the comment ‘don’t you have enough books to read for the next 2 years already?’ Yes probably, but I still want more, mind your own business. I don’t say anything about people who want to change their phone every year also 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. pigeonreads

    This post was so relatable! I’ve been nodding all throughout while reading this. I hate it when people judge me for reading, especially when they ask me what are my plans for the weekend, and I say “I’m going to read” and they roll their eyes. It’s maddening. But you can’t take a book away from a reader 😛

    Like

    Reply
  3. Kerry Alan Denney

    100% enthusiastically agreed on all points, with the appropriate “aggravated” face icon! Here’s one of mine: When a reader friend starts telling me all about what was right, wrong, good, and bad (and all about what happens) in a book I haven’t read yet but want to read. Stop doing that, dangit, lol!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

