Book Review | Prodigy by Marie Lu.

Book review

Prodigy

Name – Prodigy.

Author  – Marie Lu.

Publication Date – 29th January 2013.

Publisher – Putnam Juvenile.

Series Status – 2nd Book in the Legend Series.

You can purchase this book here; Amazon (UK) | Amazon (USA) | Barnes & Noble | Waterstones.

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.)

Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?

My Thoughts.

Marie Lu has ripped my heart out and stamped all over it! This book was hard damn work and that makes me sad. I has so much passion for the first book and I really hoped Prodigy would be just as good but it wasn’t. It was slow and I found myself putting it down to do something else.

Day and June were super cute. There was a kind of love triangle but I felt like it flitted between Day, June and Tess and then Day, June and Anden. So that was SO confusing.

The writing in this book is absolutely fantastic. The author really sent us into the characters heads. I loved June’s dilemma when she didn’t know whether to go through with the patriots plan to kill Anden. I really felt like I was feeling all their feelings and going through what they were.

I really don’t know what else to say about this book. I was disappointed to be honest. I really loved Legend but this? Not so much.

I give this book 3.5 out of 4 stars. I loved the writing and the characters but I felt like the plot was super slow and it was quite boring in some parts.


Come and Find me 🙂

Twitter.

Personal Instagram.

Bookstagram.

Goodreads.

Chronic Illness Journey.

3 thoughts on “Book Review | Prodigy by Marie Lu.

  1. Geronimo Reads

    I agree! It was extremely slow for me and took over a month for me to finish. I was enjoying it, though! There was nothing specifically wrong to me in this book because the plot moving slowly. Also — I hate Tess.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Book Review | Champion by Marie Lu. |

Leave a Reply

