Top 10 Tuesday | 5 Star Reviews & 5 Disappointing Reads.

top 10 tuesday

Wow, that title was a mouthful! Today I’m doing Top 10 Tuesday which is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This weeks topic is 10 of my most recent 5 star reviews. I decided to do 5 of my recent 5 star reviews and then 5 of my most disappointing reads.

Recent 5 Star Reviews!

1. Legend – Marie Lu.

20160310_010710

Synopsis.

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

You can find my review for Legend here.

  • I enjoyed this a lot more than I thought I would. It was really fast paced and the characters were brilliant. I’ve just finished Prodigy so look out for that review in the next few days.

2. The Accident Season – Moira Fowley-Doyle.

img_20160304_003742.jpg

Synopsis.

The accident season has been part of seventeen-year-old Cara’s life for as long as she can remember. Towards the end of October, foreshadowed by the deaths of many relatives before them, Cara’s family becomes inexplicably accident-prone. They banish knives to locked drawers, cover sharp table edges with padding, switch off electrical items – but injuries follow wherever they go, and the accident season becomes an ever-growing obsession and fear.

But why are they so cursed? And how can they break free?

You can find my review for The Accident Season here.

– This book wasn’t what I was expecting! It was beautiful and tragic and I loved every minute of it! It had so many twists and turns and it didn’t end the way I thought it would.

3. Cinder – Marissa Meyer.

cinder_cover.jpg

Synopsis.

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

You can find my review for Cinder here.

– I picked this up because I wanted to start branching out into Sci-Fi and I am SO glad I did. This book was amazing and thanks to Cinder, I now can’t get enough of Sci-Fi!

4. Dark Magick – Cate Tiernan.

dark-magick-cate-tiernan-paperback-cover-art

Synopsis.

Evil forces are after Morgan, forces connected with a dark wave of magick. And she knows that something is wrong with the way Cal is acting. He is definitely hiding something, but is he out to hurt her, as Hunter says?

– This is the 4th book in the Sweep series and I loved it so much! It re sparked my love for books about witches. I need to get around to finishing the rest of the series soon!

5. Tomorrow When The War Began – John Marsden.

tomorrow-when-the-war-began

Synopsis. 

When Ellie and her friends return from a camping trip in the Australian bush, they find things hideously wrong — their families are gone. Gradually they begin to comprehend that their country has been invaded and everyone in their town has been taken prisoner. As the reality of the situation hits them, they must make a decision — run and hide, give themselves up and be with their families, or fight back.

– I think this might be my all time favourite series (apart from Harry Potter of course!). IT WAS SO GOOD and I read all the books so quickly and it just kept getting better. I’m a bit gutted that it doesn’t get talked about much because I honestly loved it SO MUCH.


 

Recent Disappointing Reads.

1. The Rest of Us Just Live Here – Patrick Ness.

22910900.jpg

Synopsis.

What if you aren’t the Chosen One?

The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.

Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions.

You can find my review of The Rest of Us Just Live Here here.

– I didn’t hate this book but I was disappointed in it. Maybe I went into it expecting something different and thats why I didn’t like it. Who knows haha but I LOVED Patrick Ness’s writing style so I am excited to try some of his other books.

2. Allegiant – Veronica Roth. 

Offical-Allegiant-Cover

Synopsis.

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered – fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningliess. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend to complexities of human nature – and of herself – while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

– I wasn’t impressed with this book as a whole and the ending I didn’t like. I didn’t really like Tris at all throughout the entire series and this final book was a let down.

3. The Death Cure – James Dashner.

The_Death_Cure

Synopsis.

It’s the end of the line.

WICKED has taken everything from Thomas: his life, his memories, and now his only friends—the Gladers. But it’s finally over. The trials are complete, after one final test.

Will anyone survive?

What WICKED doesn’t know is that Thomas remembers far more than they think. And it’s enough to prove that he can’t believe a word of what they say.

The truth will be terrifying.

Thomas beat the Maze. He survived the Scorch. He’ll risk anything to save his friends. But the truth might be what ends it all.

The time for lies is over.

– Another trilogy that fell flat for me on the final book! WHY MUST THIS KEEP HAPPENING TO ME?! I was so looking forward to this series and I was so disappointed with the whole thing but I kept reading in the hopes it would get better – it didn’t.

4. The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath.

6514

Synopsis.

Esther Greenwood is brilliant, beautiful, enormously talented, and successful, but slowly going under—maybe for the last time. In her acclaimed and enduring masterwork, Sylvia Plath brilliantly draws the reader into Esther’s breakdown with such intensity that her insanity becomes palpably real, even rational—as accessible an experience as going to the movies. A deep penetration into the darkest and most harrowing corners of the human psyche, The Bell Jar is an extraordinary accomplishment and a haunting American classic.

– I picked up this book because I love her poetry but this book wasn’t for me. Her writing is beautiful, don’t get me wrong but I just didn’t find myself enjoying the plot.

5. The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky.

61t67Xhl2CL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_

Synopsis.

Charlie is a freshman.

And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it.

Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mix tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But he can’t stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.

– I liked this book but I didn’t see what all the hype was about. It was boring in parts and the characters all felt a bit fake to me.


 

Come and find me 🙂

Twitter.

Bookstagram.

Personal Instagram.

My Chronic Illness Journey.

Goodreads.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday | 5 Star Reviews & 5 Disappointing Reads.

  1. Geronimo Reads

    Totally agree on Legend! That book completely blew me away. I just finished Prodigy and wasn’t thrilled with it, but I seem to be in the minority on that one. While I liked Cinder, it wasn’t until when I got to Cress that I was in love with this series. Think I need a re-read after I read Winter, and maybe that’ll change some things for me!

    Hate that the Patrick Ness one was on the disappointing list. I’ve been really interested in that book for a bit now. Maybe I just need to go into with an open mind! Thanks so much for the post!! ❤

    Like

    Reply
    1. charleighsbooknook Post author

      I wasn’t that thrilled with Prodigy either! 😦
      The Patrick Ness one wasn’t bad, I was just disappointed haha. I think I was expecting it to be different than it was if that makes sense haha xx

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

