Book Review | Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake.

Book review

 

Anna-Dressed-in-Blood

Title – Anna Dressed in Blood.

Author – Kendare Blake.

Publisher – Tor Teen.

Publication Date – 17th October 2011.

Series Status – Book 1 in the Anna series. 

You can purchase this book here; 

Amazon (UK) | Amazon (USA) | Barnes & Noble | Waterstones.

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.)

Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.

So did his father before him, until he was gruesomely murdered by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father’s mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. They follow legends and local lore, destroy the murderous dead, and keep pesky things like the future and friends at bay.

Searching for a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas expects the usual: track, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he’s never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, now stained red and dripping with blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.

Yet she spares Cas’s life.

My Thoughts.

This book started off really promising and then I felt like it fell rather flat. I thought the idea was really original and it was really well written but I did have quite a few problems with it.

I liked the way the author chose to have a boy fall in love with a ghost. I’m not into romance at all but I liked this concept. I thought it was really different. It was quite creepy but it didn’t have the scare factor that I was expecting.

I really liked Cas. At the beginning, he came across as a bit of a dick that thought he was better than everyone else. I did get a feel that he was just lonely as he was always moving from place to place so he didn’t have any friends. But by the end of the book, he had surrounded himself with beautiful friendships and I got a sense that he needed that. He was also super determined to avenge his fathers death.

I liked Anna from the very beginning. I knew that there would a reason for why she was the way she was. When we find out how she died, it was so sad but so beautiful that Cas finally freed her from the torment of being forced to kill people. I also really loved her sacrifice that she made for the living.

I did feel like there was a lot going on in this book. We had Cas trying to deal with Anna which took up the bulk of the book. But then we were introduced to the bigger villian towards the end of the book which annoyed me because it felt like that didn’t belong in this book – maybe the sequel but not in the same book. It did add a surprise element though.

I doubt I’m going to read the next book. I liked it but it didn’t grab my attention enough to continue. I want to know what happens but not enough to drag myself through another book. I think I’ll be satisfied if I just search out a spoiler review.

I give this book 3 out of 5 stars. It was an enjoyable and fun book to read but I did find it confusing in parts. I didn’t like some of the character building in the beginning and I don’t think I’ll be carrying on with the next book. It was really well written though and a really unique idea!


 

Come and find me 🙂

Twitter.

Bookstagram.

Personal Instagram.

Chronic Illness Journey.

Goodreads.

One thought on “Book Review | Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake.

Leave a Reply

