Top 5 Wednesday | Books You DNF.

top 5 wednesday

Hi guys! Its Wednesday again and I am bringing you this weeks T5W 🙂 This meme was created by Lainey and if you would like to find out more about joining in on this fun meme, you can check out the goodreads group; here.

This weeks topic is books you DNF (did not finished.) Some of these books I feel quite ashamed that I didn’t stick them out because most of them I’ve heard amazing things about. But just because they’re on this list, doesn’t mean I won’t go back to them in the future!

So, lets get started 🙂


 

1. Paper Towns – John Green.

PaperTowns2009_6A

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.)

Who is the real Margo?

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs into his life—dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows. After their all-nighter ends, and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues—and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew…

– I tried so hard to finish this book. I really wanted to like it but I just didn’t and I wasn’t going to force myself to finish a book I just couldn’t get into. Sorry John!

2. Looking For Alaska – John Green.

looking-for-alaska

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.)

Before. Miles “Pudge” Halter’s whole existence has been one big nonevent, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave the “Great Perhaps” (François Rabelais, poet) even more. He heads off to the sometimes crazy, possibly unstable, and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed-up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young, who is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart.

After. Nothing is ever the same.

– Another John Green book that I just couldn’t get into to. I think I’ve spoke about his books before and how I can’t understand the hype, so I won’t go on but MAN, I really wanted to like his books because I felt like I was missing out on something amazing. 

3. Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell.

428050

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.)

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

– I was reluctant to put this book on my list because I really was enjoying it and I probably will go back to it in the future. I was in a pretty suckish reading slump when I was reading this so I hope to finish it soon!

4. All The Bright Places – Jennifer Niven.

allthebrightplaces

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.)

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

– I couldn’t get into this. I loved the sound of it and thought it would be something that I would definetly enjoy but again, I didn’t. 


5. The Hobbit – J.R.R Tolkien.

photo_5653_0-7

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.)

In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit. Not a nasty, dirty, wet hole, filled with the ends of worms and an oozy smell, nor yet a dry, bare, sandy hole with nothing in it to sit down on or to eat: it was a hobbit-hole, and that means comfort.

– I hate that this is on my list. I really enjoyed the Lord of the Rings films so I wanted to read the books too. But I couldn’t follow this at all but I am going to try again because I really think I will enjoy it. Maybe I was in a reading slump!


 

So thats my list for today! What are some of the books that you didn’t finish? I love talking to your guys about books (even if you don’t agree with my opinions!)


Come and find me 🙂

Twitter.

Bookstagram.

Personal Instagram.

Goodreads.

Chronic Ilness Journey.

 

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Books You DNF.

  1. Pingback: 3 Days, 3 Quotes: 2 |

  2. Cate T.

    John Green is a huge NO for me. I do not like his writing at all. I think I was one of the few people who hated TFIOS.

    However… I love his online content. Just… not his books.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

