Book Review | Legend by Marie Lu.

Book review

20160310_010710

Name: Legend.

Author: Marie Lu.

Publication Date: 29th November 2011.

Publisher: Putnam Juvenile.

Series Status: 1st book in the Legend Series.

You can purchase this book here; Amazon (UK) | Amazon (USA) 

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.)

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

My Thoughts.

I’ve been wanting to read this for quite a while so when I found the trilogy boxset in The Works for £7, I knew I had to have them!

If you know me, you will know that I love dystopian fiction. I love seeing the world to be something so different to what it is. This book was SO good and so damn intriguing. Its the first book in a while that I finished super quick. I loved the characters, the storyline and the mystery. It was just so unbelievably good. Legend was definitely different to other dystopian stories that I’ve read. I felt it was a really unique plot and it was so difficult to put down. I liked the way the author wrote in 2 different points of view, it really worked.

June is one of our main protagonists. After her brother is murdered, she is determined to avenge his death. She is a prodigy meaning she is the only person to score 1500, the perfect score, in what are known as the trials. I really liked her but at times I hated her, the hate went away towards the end which I am very grateful for! She was totally badass and I liked her determination to catch her brothers killer. Sometimes, I did find her to be a little stupid in her decisions. And what she thought about the kids who didn’t pass their trial, it made me mad and she came across as judgemental. But I figured that was probably because of the way she was brought up.

I loved seeing June develop into an amazing character. I loved the way she slowly realised that the Republic was bad and handling everything the wrong way.

Day is our other main protagonist. He came across like he didn’t give a shit about anything but deep down he cared deeply about the people he loved. He cared about Tess and took her under his wing and cared for her just like she was his little sister. He cared about his mother and his brothers and he came to deeply care about June.

I liked that there was a lot of mystery regarding the Republic and the plague virus. There was some amazing world building in my opinion and I liked how we see June unfold all the secrets on the pages of this amazing book.

About 80% through, I had this sudden urge to fangirl over this book. It was so good and so intoxicating.

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars. I’m so excited to read the rest of this series and see how the story continues. Read it if you haven’t already! 


 

Come and find me!

Twitter.

Personal Instagram.

Chronic Ilness Blog.

Bookstagram.

Goodreads.

2 thoughts on “Book Review | Legend by Marie Lu.

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Tuesday | Ten Books On My Spring TBR.

  2. Pingback: Book Review | Champion by Marie Lu. |

Leave a Reply

