Book Review: The Awakening by Kelley Armstrong.

The mountains are yearning. (1)

Hellooooo everyone. Today I have another book review for you! I am in the process of creating my own book tube. Super excited! Anyway on with the review….

Name – The Awakening.
Author – Kelley Armstrong.
Publisher – Harpercollins.
Publication Date – 28th April 2009.
Series Status – 2nd book in the Darkest Powers trilogy.

image

You can purchase this book here;
Amazon (UK) | Amazon (USA) | Barnes & Noble | Waterstones.

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.)

My name is Chloe Saunders, and if you had met me a few weeks ago, you probably would have described me as an average teenage girl – someone normal.

Now my life has changed forever and I’m as far away from normal as it gets. A living science experiment – not only can I see ghosts, but I was genetically altered by a sinister organization called the Edison Group. What does that mean? For starters, I’m a teenage necromancer whose powers are out of control: I raise the dead without even trying. Trust me, that is not a power you want to have. Ever.

Now I’m running for my life with three of my supernatural friends – a chraming sorceror, a cynical werewolf, and a disgruntled witch – and we have to find someone who can help us before the Edison Group finds us first. Or die trying.

My Thoughts.

I liked this a lot more than the first book! It was so action packed whereas the first one seemed to be more of slow introduction to Chloe and the rest of the gang.

I started to like Derek a whole lot more. He was so so protective over Chloe and I thought it was so cute. But I equally thought Chloe was protective over Derek especially when she refused to leave him alone during the changing. He even started joking and that was nice to see.

I still can’t figure out who Chloe might end up with. I liked that this book didn’t have all the mushy mushy love stuff that a lot of YA books do.

I loved finding out more information about the Edison Group and their plans. It was hard at times to understand whether they were good or bad.

I hated Tori. Well I hated her in the first book but this book she was so far up her own ass I wanted to slap her.

The author certainly knows how to tell a good story. She grabs your attention from the very first chapter and never let’s go until the last page has been turned. The characters are real and I saw some major character development from the first book.

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars because it was just a fantastic follow on from the first book. I will definetly be reading the last book in the trilogy and hopefully it will answer some questions I have floating around in my brain.

Come and say hello!!

Twitter.
Personal Instagram.
Bookstagram.
Goodreads.
Chronic Illness Blog.

Leave a Reply

