Book Review | The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong.

The mountains are yearning. (1)

Name – The Summoning.
Author – Kelley Armstrong.
Publication Date – 1st July 2008.
Series Status – 1st book in the Darkest Powers trilogy.

image

You can purchase this book here;
Amazon (UK) | Amazon (USA) | Waterstones | Barnes & Noble.

Synopsis. (Taken from Goodreads.)

My name is Chloe Saunders and my life will never be the same again.

All I wanted was to make friends, meet boys, and keep on being ordinary. I don’t even know what that means anymore. It all started on the day that I saw my first ghost – and the ghost saw me.

Now there are ghosts everywhere and they won’t leave me alone. To top it all off, I somehow got myself locked up in Lyle House, a “special home” for troubled teens. Yet the home isn’t what it seems. Don’t tell anyone, but I think there might be more to my housemates than meets the eye. The question is, whose side are they on? It’s up to me to figure out the dangerous secrets behind Lyle House… before its skeletons come back to haunt me.

My Thoughts.

I am so happy I found this gem of a book! I wasn’t sure about it at first but I thought I’d give it a shot! The prologue really pulled me in and I was excited to read every chapter.

It really did chill me to the bone and I’m so excited to start reading the 2nd book in the series!

I love the way Kelley Armstrong told the story. Her writing was beautiful and it flowed really well. I found myself reading chapter after chapter without being able to stop myself. I love it when I find a book like that!!

Our main character is called Chloe. At the beginning she starts seeing people that nobody else can see and everyone thinks she’s crazy. She’s sent to Lyle house which added to the mystery and no one is as they first appear. I loved the aspect of Lyle House, I think it added to the pace.

I loved Rae, I thought she was really funny and loved how she and Chloe had all these adventures together!

I couldn’t decide and I still can’t what I think of Derek. I had figured out what he was around the middle of the book. I didn’t like his attitude but I guess he had that attitude because he was afraid of what he was and was afraid of judgements from others.

The book was so full of mystery! I didn’t know what was going on to begin with but it added to the whole brilliance of the book.

I loved when Chloe was stuck in the crawl space. It totally made all the hair on my arms stand up! It was so creepy and I was just glad it wasn’t me trapped there!

When Chloe, Rae, Simon and Derek made their great escape, it was so tense. I was on tender hooks reading and finding out if they found them or not.

The ending was so good but I hated the betrayal.

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars because I loved it! There were a few things that I didn’t like for example; the betrayal at the end (although I do understand why it had to happen). I loved the pace and it really creeped me out!

Follow me on Twitter.
Follow my bookish Instagram.
Add me on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

