ARC Review | The Painted Ocean by Gabriel Packard.

The mountains are yearning. (1)

Title – The Painted Ocean.

Author -Gabriel Packard.

Publication Date – 3rd March 2016.

Publisher – Corsair Books.

27979186

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.)

When I was a little girl, my dad left me and my mum, and he never came back. And you’re supposed to be gutted when that happens. But secretly I preferred it without him, cos it meant I had my mum completely to myself, without having to share her with anyone. And I sort of inherited all the affection she used to give to my dad – like he’d left it behind for me as a gift, to say sorry for deserting me

So says eleven year old Shruti of her broken home in suburban middle England. But hopes of her mother’s affection are in vain: speaking little English, and fluent in only Hindi and Punjabi, Shruti’s mother is lost, and soon falls prey to family pressure to remarry. To find another husband means returning to India and leaving Shruti behind.

Meanwhile at school a new arrival, the indomitable Meena, dispenses with Shruti’s bullying problems and transforms her day to day life. Desperate for companionship Shruti latches on to Meena to the point of obsession, following her through high school and on to university. But when Meena invites Shruti to join her on holiday in India, she has no idea how dangerous her obsession will turn out to be…

 

My Thoughts.

I received this book through Netgallery in exchange for a honest review.

This book intrigued me, it was really fast paced and I found myself staying up to read another chapter. The author had a really unique way of telling the story. I loved the way it was written and it flowed really well! One thing that really annoyed me was the over use of like and there was so many ands!

The main character is called Shruti. From the very beginning I thought she was a little strange but I did feel so bad for her when she was getting bullied.

I didn’t like Meena at all. I thought she was super stuck up and full of herself but I felt like she had this strange way of trying to protect Shruti.

At the beginning I enjoyed reading about India and its culture. I thought Shruti’s uncle was such an idiot and I didn’t like the fact that her mother was putting everything in front of her daughter. When her uncle calls the police and makes Shruti look like the bad one, I was so mad!!

As Shruti got older and was applying for university, it started to become clear that she had a very obsessive personality. These obsessions probably stemmed from her mother abandoning her.

When Shruti booked the New Zealand holiday for her and Meena, I was just thinking ‘What the hell are you doing?!’. It was totally irresponsible and crazy but I loved it haha!! And then at the airport, I was thinking the same thing. Shruti always seems to dig herself a big hole!

I did feel like the plot fell apart in the middle. It seemed the whole course of the book changed. It was still good but I did get rather confused with what was going on.

What Steve did to Shruti was so awful and I was so mad at Meena for letting him do it and for bringing her to the island. Not going to add spoilers to my review but towards the end it just got even more messed up!

I give this book 3 out of 5 stars because I did enjoy it but I felt like the plot was rather muddled and the over use of ‘and’ really bugged me and I felt like it ruined the book for me slightly. It was still a really good read and I’m glad I read it!

Follow me on Twitter.

Follow me on Instagram.

Add me on Goodreads.

 

 

One thought on “ARC Review | The Painted Ocean by Gabriel Packard.

  1. Pingback: The Playlist Shuffle Tag – Reader's Anonymous

Leave a Reply

