Book Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey.

The mountains are yearning. (1)

Title – The 5th Wave.
Author – Rick Yancey.
Series Status – 1st book in the 5th wave series.
Publication Date – 7th May 2013.
Publisher – G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers.

image

You can purchase this book here;
Amazon (UK) | Amazon (USA) | Barnes & Noble | Waterstones.

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads)

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother–or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

My Thoughts.

It took me a few chapters to make sense of what was going on. But as I read on I got the idea that the author was telling us what happened in each different wave.

I’ve had this book on my TBR for so long but a few weeks ago I saw the trailer for the movie and it got me excited again, so I picked up the book.

This book had so many twists and turns it was sometimes hard to keep up. But I really enjoyed the plot. I felt that this book was so refreshing and was different to anything I’ve read in the past.

The book is told through 3 different points of view. Cassie, Zombie and Cassie’s little brother Sammy. I think it really worked, I liked the way we got to see the different points of view. At first I was thinking it might confuse me but it didn’t and I looked forward to each different point of view.

I liked Cassie. She was by far my favourite character. She was sarcastic and made me really laugh at some parts. I liked that because it was funny but also terrifying. She was totally badass – my kind of protagonist.

I loved Zombie. I loved that he was totally carefree at the beginning of the book. He didn’t care about anything and anyone. Then Nugget came along and Zombie was determined to protect him, even if it meant risking his life.

I really liked the way it was written, it was so compelling and I just wanted to keep reading. The way that Rick Yancey wrote this book was fantastic. He showed us exactly what happened in each wave and how Cassie felt about it. I did feel slightly scared of the 5th wave – that’s how good his writing was.

The ending was amazing and so explosive, it kept me on the edge of my seat.

I’m going to give this book 4 stars because I really enjoyed it and it kept me on the edge of my seat. I thought the characters were really refreshing and it was a really good book.

Follow me on Twitter.
Follow me on Instagram.
Add me on Goodreads.

One thought on “Book Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey.

Leave a Reply

