Book Review: The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness.

The mountains are yearning. (1)

Title: The Rest of Us Just Live Here.
Author: Patrick Ness.
Publisher: Walker Books.
Publication Date: 27th August 2015.

image

You can purchase this book here;
Amazon (UK) | Amazon (USA) | Barnes & Noble | Waterstones

Synopsis.

What if you aren’t the Chosen One?

The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.

Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions.

My Thoughts.

I thought the beginning was really sweet when they were talking about how you feel love. They were definetly right, you do feel it in your stomach, like there’s butterflies in there fluttering around.

This book was so different from other books. I’ve been wanting to read Patrick Ness’s books for a while now, I’ve read so many reviews saying how his books are so good.

Patrick Ness has a real knack for storytelling. His writing is so beautiful.
I read so many books about vampires and fantasy characters so it was nice to read about the people on the other side.

Our main protagonist Mike, is in love with Henna and just wants to graduate. He also has OCD. His mother is a politician. It was really sweet how they had the bonding session in the car.

I felt he approached mental illness really well. He explained it well and I didn’t feel like it was sterotypical like alot of books sometimes are.

I’ve been craving fantasy stories so bad recently but this wasn’t that. It was about the other ‘people’. The people who aren’t the ‘indie kids’ The people who weren’t going to save the world or fight vampires. They are just normal kids with normal problems. I loved how at the beginning of every chapter we had a little paragraph telling us what the ‘indie kids’ had been up too!

I did find the characters quite boring, I felt they lacked a lot of personality. Yes they had problems like OCD and eating disorders but that was it, it seemed that was all their personalities consisted of.

I did like Mike’s little sister Meredith though, I thought she was adorable. Her determination to go to the concert was adorable too.

The mystery surrounding the indie kids was really interesting. I thought it would frustrate me being on the other side of where all the action was happening but it didn’t.

I only really had a few problems with this book. It was really slow in parts and I nearly gave up reading it because I was bored. I don’t know if that’s to do with the lack of personality in the characters or because I was craving fantasy or that it was just slow.

Overall it was a beautiful book about growing up and moving on with the added pressure of what could be the end of the world.

I give this book 3.5 stars out of 5 because I enjoyed it but it was quite slow in alot of parts and I didn’t really feel like I connected with the characters.

Follow me on Twitter.
Follow me on Instagram.
Add me on Goodreads.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness.

  1. jessreadingnook

    I have only read one of Patrick Ness’s books, but this sounds interesting. I’m sad that the characters came off as a flat though, because I thought he did a great job with character development in the book I read. But it was also different, so I’ve been curious what his “normal” books are like.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Pingback: December Wrap Up + January TBR. | Charleigh's Book Nook

Leave a Reply

