Book Review: The 100 by Kass Morgan.

The mountains are yearning. (1)

Title: The 100.
Author: Kass Morgan.
Series Status: 1st book in a trilogy.
Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks.
Publication Date: 29th August 2013.

image

You can purchase this book here;
Amazon (UK) | Amazon (USA) | Barnes & Noble | Waterstones

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.)

Ever since a devastating nuclear war, humanity has lived on spaceships far above Earth’s radioactive surface. Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents — considered expendable by society — are being sent on a dangerous mission: to recolonize the planet. It could be their second chance at life…or it could be a suicide mission.

CLARKE was arrested for treason, though she’s haunted by the memory of what she really did. WELLS, the chancellor’s son, came to Earth for the girl he loves — but will she ever forgive him? Reckless BELLAMY fought his way onto the transport pod to protect his sister, the other half of the only pair of siblings in the universe. And GLASS managed to escape back onto the ship, only to find that life there is just as dangerous as she feared it would be on Earth.

Confronted with a savage land and haunted by secrets from their pasts, the hundred must fight to survive. They were never meant to be heroes, but they may be mankind’s last hope.

My Thoughts.

The first chapter really gripped my attention and I just thought wow, i’m really going to enjoy this book and that I did!

I’ve read quite a lot of bad reviews of this book mainly saying that the TV show is better. I’m probably at an advantage because I haven’t watched the TV show and I was able to enjoy the book more. I definetly would read the rest of the series before I watch the show.

I loved Kass Morgan’s writing style! Her writing was super easy to read and I whizzed through it. Her writing was really captivating and just flowed over the page.

My first thoughts of Clarke was that she was super badass! When the 100 went down to earth I saw a different side to her. When she was caring for the people injured, she was very caring, even to those she didn’t know. She was super protective over Thalia.

I loved the different POV’s as I got to know the different main characters. It was really interesting reading the flashbacks as they happened rather then it just being told in the story.

I felt like I really connected with Glass. She reminded me a lot of me. And I couldn’t believe why she had been confined. I mean I should of worked it out but I didn’t!  When her and Luke were properly reunited I had so many feels! I liked Glass’s story but I can’t help but think she was purely created just so we could see bits of what was happening back home.

I liked Bellamy. His dedication to protect his sister was beautiful. I liked that he had a soft side to him although he did try really hard to act tough!

I didn’t like Wells. His insane jealously was dangerous. And I can’t believe how he held Clarke back from saving the only friend she had. Yeah maybe he was trying to protect her but she was trying to save her friend.

I loved the relationship between Clarke and Bellamy. I thought they were so suited to each other even though their personalities are quite different. I kept getting angry at parts like Wells might be trying to jeopardise Clarke and Bellamy’s relationship on purpose.

I did find it a little predictable. Of course they weren’t going to be alone on earth, that would make for a very boring series! But overall it was a really good book and I am looking forward to reading the next one.

I give it 4 out of 5 stars because it was a really good book! The writing style was fantastic and the characters had so much personality. It was just a little predictable and I do like books that keep me guessing.

Follow me on Twitter.
Follow me on Instagram.
Add me on Goodreads.
Follow my Chronic Illness Journey.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The 100 by Kass Morgan.

  1. jessreadingnook

    I read this book, and am one of the people that didn’t like it it. Then again, I watched the show first and I loved it. But I’m glad you liked it. I wonder if I would have had a different opinion if I hadn’t watched the show first. I will say that I like Bellamy better in the book (I love him in the show too, though).

    Like

    Reply
  2. Codie

    My sister’s name is Clarke! But I love science fiction, so I’ll be checking this one out. I didn’t know this was a television series either, which means I’ll read the book before watching the show. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Pingback: December Wrap Up + January TBR. | Charleigh's Book Nook

Leave a Reply

