Book Review: Frostbite by Richelle Mead.

The mountains are yearning. (1)

Title – Frostbite
Author – Richelle Mead.
Series Status – Book 2 in the Vampire Academy series.
Publisher – Razorbill.
Publication Date – 10th April 2008.

image

You can purchase this book here;
Amazon (UK) | Amazon (USA) | Barnes & Noble | Waterstones

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.)

Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi princess: a mortal vampire with a rare gift for harnessing the earth’s magic. She must be protected at all times from Strigoi; the fiercest vampires – the ones who never die. The powerful blend of human and vampire blood that flows through Rose Hathaway, Lissa’s best friend, makes her a dhampir. Rose is dedicated to a dangerous life of protecting Lissa from the Strigoi, who are hell-bent on making Lissa one of them.

Rose has serious guy trouble. Her gorgeous tutor, Dimitri, has his eye on someone else, her friend Mason has a huge crush on her, and she keeps getting stuck in her best friend Lissa’s head while she’s making out with her boyfriend, Christian.

Then a nearby Strigoi attack puts St. Vladimir’s on high alert, and the Academy whisks its students away on a mandatory holiday ski trip. But the glittering winter landscape and posh Idaho resort only provide the illusion of safety. When three students run away to strike back against the deadly Strigoi, Rose must join forces with Christian to rescue them. Only this time, Rose – and her heart – are in more danger than she ever could have imagined…

My Thoughts.

I felt like the first book was just an opening to this series. Frostbite really took off and was a lot more interesting and intriguing. The end of the book ended with a lot of drama and paved the way for a damn good series.

I can fully see where Rose is coming from with her mother. Every child wants to feel loved and cared for by their parents, even when her mother is a successful guardian. I mean it doesn’t take much to make a phonecall to ask how she is. Reminds me of my mother and how little she cared for me.
I’m not a romance girl. I don’t enjoy anything to do with romance and love. Saying that, I have so many thoughts on Rose’s love life. I think Mason and her would of being cute and could of really worked but her and Dimitri are just meant to be! I hate how their relationship is forbidden but things are always too good to be true! I did feel like there were beginning to be too many love interests creeping up throughout the book.

I didn’t like the fact that Rose and Lissa seem so distant because Lissa was spending all her time with Christian. I hope that improves as the series goes on.
I felt so awkward when Rose was watching them about to make love!

I loved how towards the end of the book you can see how much Rose has grown. In the first book and the beginning of this book, she always acted so immature and rebellious but at the end of this book she showed us just how much of a good guardian she will become. I love how bad ass she is but also has some real and raw emotion.

The ending was utterly heartbreaking but I did love seeing some raw emotion coming from Rose and finally her mother actually being there for her.

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars because I enjoyed it more than the first one and didn’t feel like I was forcing myself through the book. I felt like sometimes the character especially the love interests were hard to keep track of. I loved the development of Rose’s character and loved all the drama. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

Follow me on Twitter.
Follow me on Instagram.
Add me on Goodreads.
Follow my Chronic illness journey.

One thought on “Book Review: Frostbite by Richelle Mead.

  1. Pingback: December Wrap Up + January TBR. | Charleigh's Book Nook

Leave a Reply

